Daily News Reports »

David Sparks Ph.d Disaster Relief
by David Sparks Ph.d, click here for bio

Program: Idaho Ag Today
Date: December 12, 2018

Click on the play button to listen to report.

Download Report: Disaster_Relief2.mp3

USDA Designates Two Idaho Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border State Also Available. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated two Idaho counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Canyon and Payette counties who suffered losses due to a recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.


This designation by Secretary Perdue allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.


Producers in the contiguous Idaho counties of Ada, Gem, Owyhee and Washington, along with Malheur County in Oregon, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans. The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is July 8, 2019. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Recent Reports from Idaho Ag Today

Click here to see Archived Reports